Hello!

My mentor was visiting today, and we both received a few surprises!  She told me that the grade I received for my first year at university was a first, not a 2:1 as I originally thought, so that was pretty amazing.  I showed her this blog and, as usual, she told me my writing is beautiful, which is always lovely to hear.  She was a little stumped over what NanoWriMo is, and when I explained, she thought it was a fantastic idea; she was a little shocked, however, when I told her I had won two out of the four years I have participated, and that I do actually have a novel under my belt, however much dust it has collected on my hard-drive since writing it in 2012.

She told me that I could, once edited (which is, as I have found out, a job ten times harder than writing the damned thing), send it to publishing houses and see what they have to say. That’s the dream; being published properly. Self-publishing is a wonderful thing, I don’t have a problem with it, but I’m much more… traditional when it comes to books. There’s nothing better, I find, than browsing in a bookstore or a library for that perfect next read, which is what I dream of someone doing to any potential book I may write. So that surprised me; for some reason I thought you had to go through editors and hassle and thousands of pounds that I don’t have before sending it anywhere – I didn’t realise you could just send it off without all of that. We’ll have to see when it comes to it, I suppose.

As for NaNoWriMo, I’m not working on Truth (the novel I wrote in 2012) this year, and it’ll be my first year that I’m not writing and rewriting it. Instead, I have a brand new idea that has been brewing for a while now, and as unprepared as I am, I’m truly looking forward to it. I’ve spent the past few weeks researching Victorian crime and punishment instead of studying as hard as I should. It’s interesting, to say the least. Much more so than the lives of objects!

I’ve still no idea where to begin with freelancing, but I think I need to get this blog going properly before I even consider writing for someone else. Getting the thoughts in my head out legibly is hard enough at the moment without constant word vomit. It may be on the back-burner, but it’s something I am interested in and will be researching over the coming weeks and months.

For now, though, it’s just me and this little blog, and it’s perfectly good enough.

Leave a Reply

