I’m still behind, but slowly catching up! I was hoping to land the 10,000 words mark today, but I’ve only just hit 5k, and I still have an essay to start writing, and it’s nearly 7PM. What on earth have I done with my day?

I’ve been so stuck today. I feel like I’ve written so much more than I have. I started this morning with 3,537 words, and I’m going to go to 6k before I stop. That’ll leave me 5,666 words behind tomorrow, which is a considerably smaller gap than today, I suppose. I have work tomorrow, so I’ll only be able to write a small amount, but I’ll keep trying to close the gap. Maybe by this time next week I’ll be caught up? We’ll have to see.

I refuse to give up completely, though. The thing- I also refuse to call it a novel – I am writing at the minute is terrible. There’s no flow to it, no plot, just… flatness. I’m not enjoying it, which I think may be half the problem; I’m forcing myself to write something that I’m not loving. I might revisit Truth and see if I can do any re-writing of that to put towards my word count. I might have more motivaton for that.

Regardless of that, I do have an essay due on Thursday, which really needs to take priority right now. It’s a two-part assignment based on an Egyptian chess piece from about 1500 years ago. I am not looking forward to it. Many other students have been struggling with it, and I haven’t even started yet!

I’ll get up to 6,000 words and then make a start on my assignment. I’m not giving up just yet, though. Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Day Six; 5,378/50,000

Leave a Reply

