I finished my essay Wednesday afternooon, after spending a total of about ten hours on it. It was the hardest assignment I have ever done, and I am so glad it’s over. I have never worked so hard or been so confused and stressed in my life. And it was only 750 words!

But it’s done and sent off, so now I’m just waiting for my results. The pass mark is 40, so I hope I at least achieve that, but I wouldn’t be surprised if I don’t, and quite frankly, I don’t care. I’m just glad I got through it.

I’ve scratched NaNoWriMo off for this year; I am far too behind to make a decent comeback, but that doesn’t mean I’ll stop writing. In fact, I wanted to share something with you that popped into my head this afternoon, whilst I was waiting from my bus home from work; inspiration works in the strangest ways, doesn’t it?

It’s not strictly what I myself believe, though I do think it’s a lovely idea. I don’t realy have a character that thinks this either, but maybe one can spring to life from my ramblings! So here is  very short original work, concocted from boredom at a bus stop!

              I have always believed the world stops at the furthest point of travel. I get on a bus from home to work every day. I know the town past my bus stop exists, and I know there are towns further ahead of the bus stop at work, but to me, those worlds are like the thoughts in my head; real, but immaterial. I know there is sadness and happiness and pure, unadulterated life beyond these points of travel, but it’s like a video game, where you wander around and new areas load in as you walk. You load the chunks of life as you explore. You know they are there, but you don’t know what awaits you. You may have been there before, but it’s never the exact same. There are new people, new flowers, new words. The air had changed and the temperature is different, and it’s like a whole new world. Of course, the points of travel are different, too, but if you journey the same route, you don’t notice these things. There’s nothing to be excited about. And that’s what I think life is about; exploring the new and different things, even if they aren’t new. There might just be something there outside the day-to-day that will surprise you. There might be something new in the old that can make you live again.

It’s strange and it’s whimsical, and I kind of like it! I just wanted to share it with you.

Leave a Reply

