A new post of a new year! (Because technically, my New Year’s post went up a few hours before the new year…)

It’s been a busy old time for me recently. I’ve still got a stinking cold, and I’ve had to play catch up with my studies; luckily, the past two weeks have been our Christmas break at uni, so I’ve had time to do just that. Work has been hectic and I’m glad I get paid tomorrow; Christmas has made me, as I’m sure it’s made many of you, broke.

So, I’ve not had a lot of writing time, and to tell you the truth, I’ve not had a lot of motivation, either. I’ve sat down three or four times, ready to start a blog post, and found myself completely out of ideas.

Today’s 500 words is a little obscure. I’m not sure where it came from, I’m not sure what it means (thought it seems, on the surface, pretty self-explanatory) and I’m not sure if I like it, but I’ve written it now, so I may as well post it.

As of now there are 7,476,265,633 people in the world. That number is fluctuating person by person every millisecond. It seems that one person dies for every three that are born. The world’s population is growing exponentially, and the earth itself is not. One day, there will be too many people to fit; the forests will all be gone and the deserts will be gone, the oceans will disappear and every natural wonder will vanish because of human beings needing space.

Or will there be a great culling? Will something wipe us out before we reach that point? There are seven and a half billion people in the world, and you can only be sure of your own actions.

Your friend, reading this over your shoulder, could be in prison tomorrow. Your mother could be dead and your husband could kill you. You never know what will happen, who someone will become, what they have done that will land them in a predicament tomorrow.

Your childhood friend, the one you called ‘sister’ and held her hand when she grazed her knee; you remember her? She’s on trial for the murder of her infant son and long-term girlfriend. She was perfectly fine one day, not a hair out of place. And the she decided she had had enough, and she used the gun she keeps in her bedside drawer and ended the lives of the two people who love her most.

Your father is going to be hit by a bus and never return home from work. You remembered you never told him to ‘be safe’ this morning, something you have done every single morning since you were five.

You cannot control what other people think, what they do or what they say. You can only control what you do, what you say, how you think, and hope it’s enough to quieten the voices in someone else’s mind; to inspire them to do something great today, to be who they’ve always wanted to be and strive for the best.

So, who are you? Are you capable of murder? Will you be one of the people taking a person’s life for every three that are made? Or will you make new life, trying to bridge the gap between the births and deaths? Will you be the one to give birth to the final person that will tip the world on its side?

Do you smile at strangers? Do you tip your waitresses and thank your bus drivers? Or do you pull the heads off your sibling’s dolls and rip the wings from butterflies?

Who are you? What do you want from this life? Whose life are you going to change? You don’t have to know the answers right this second; but who do you want to be? It’s perfectly acceptable to want to change your own life, and in doing so, you may well change the lives of those around you.

Are you who you want to be? No? Change it, then.

It is a little bit out of the blue, but I think it challenges the mind. I mean think about it; are you really who you want to be? If not, what don’t you change that? Even the smallest of changes can lead to a great deal of different paths. Just something to think about until our next meeting, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

