Hello! My deepest apologies for not posting in three weeks. I have had a lot going on in my personal life, and not a lot going on in my writing life. The number of times I have sat down to start a blog post and just stared at the blank screen for an hour embarrasses me. I have had the world’s worst writer’s block recently.

But I digress! Having been unable to write anything new, I have decided to re-write a little more of my novel, this time in first person. I always struggle with the persons third and first, and usually find myself switching between the two and the most inconvenient of moments. This post continues on from my last, but, as I said, is in the first person.

I originally wrote Truth in the third person, so re-writing even 500 words of it in the first is rather refreshing. I don’t think I’ll continue re-writing Truth through this blog, because it could be a boring ride, but I might make a few updates every now and then (if I even re-write it in my spare time – I hope I get round to it).

So without further ado, the new extract.

The grip on my arm was vice-like. I could feel my heart racing beneath my shirt, the icy air cutting into my bare arms. I was not dressed for the snow, and I was even less prepared for what awaited me.

Every part of me was numb both due to snow and to the fear coursing through my veins. What had I done? I was in a strange place, without my family, and as far as I knew, I was being kidnapped. The man who captured me was muttering to himself. I tried to listen, but either I was too scared to focus on his words, or he was speaking an entirely different language.

I was frogmarched down the icy hillside, the lake coming into closer view. I could see, now, that it was completely frozen over. It reminded me, suddenly, of my childhood. Mother would take me and my sister into the city a few days before Christmas. She had saved for weeks to be able to afford three tickets into the ice-rink. I used to love strapping on my boots, holding Aoife’s hand and gliding across the ice.

We walked for hours – or perhaps it was only minutes – when suddenly, a huge, glittering building came into view. I don’t know how I could have missed it. Its white marble spires reaching into the sky like stalactites. It was quite clearly our destination, and my terror grew. I wasn’t being taken to a prison; I was being taken straight to the Queen.

“Where are we going?” I asked, though I thought I had already figured it out. I needed clarification.

“To see the Queen,” the man barked, panting slightly after dragging me so far; I wasn’t nimble by any means, and in the snow, I kept tripping.

So, I was right. Was I to be executed on the spot? I didn’t know how castles and royalty and punishment worked; I was from a little village that had very little to do with the outside world. As far as we were concerned, it was just the three of us, Mother, Aoife and me, in our own little world.

By the time we reached the castle’s entrance, I was frozen and shaking terribly from fear. My captor was panting harder now, almost carrying me past the guards and into the cavernous entrance hall.

“Wait here,” the man said, glaring at me before turning on his heel and leaving me alone, shivering. I took the brief reprieve to take in my surroundings. Despite being made of marble, the castle was homely inside, and there was a warm glow cast about the walls from a large crystal chandelier above my head. It did not comfort me.

A grand staircase was in the centre of the hall, leading up and away, splitting off to form two wings. I wondered what was up there. On my level, there was a set of oak door directly to my left, which is where my captor had vanished.

Of course, I have had to limit myself somewhat because of my 500 word limit (that I imposed myself… I don’t have to stick to it, but I think it’s good practice) but I like it. I don’t love it, but it’ll do for now.

In my studies, we’re getting into creative writing, so that might help me in the short term. I don’t officially start studying creative writing until the end of 2018, but these upcoming few weeks might prove beneficial.

Speaking of studies, that’s what I should be doing. I hope you’ll forgive me for the long hiatus, but life gets in the way sometimes. Nevertheless, it’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

