Hello!

I recently received my exam results and while I passed, which I’m glad about, I didn’t do well on the Creative Writing question.

It got to me a little, because writing is what I love and what I want to do, so to see crappy marks made me feel a little downhearted. But we only had around forty minutes for the question, and writing theory, and then drafting, writing and editing a piece from scratch in forty minutes is very hard. I’m trying not to feel too bad about it…

Nevertheless, it’s not going to stop me from writing!

So, today I thought I’d try something a bit different. Children’s fiction!

I’ve never really written anything for children, and let me tell you; it’s hard! I’m used to writing more young adult/new adult fiction, which is more my demographic so writing for younger children is something completely new for me.

This piece sprang from nowhere and I’m not completely sure it makes any sense, but it was fun to write! The theme of Artemis worked its own way into my writing; I was only looking for a name! Nevertheless, I hope you enjoy!

“I’m not great at anything! I’m just small.” Artie said, a scowl marring her face.

The man with the scraggly beard laughed softly and placed his hand upon her shoulder. He crouched onto one knee and looked her in the eye.

“You may be small, but you have a great heart. There is magic inside you, Artie, never forget that.”

Artie smiled hesitantly. She wished her parents could see the magic inside of her; she told the man so.

“Adults are funny beings. They only believe in what they can see with their own two eyes. There are few and far between those that glimpse the magic in the world. If you always remember what I have told you, I believe you will be one of them.”

“Are you one of them? Do you believe in magic?” Artie’s eyes widened hopefully.

“Everyone has potential inside of them. You can achieve your dreams if you put your mind to it.”

“But do you believe?”

The man smiled widely. “I do. But you must believe, too.” The man stood, then, and brushed off his knees. “Remember your greatness, Artemis, for those who forget fall far.”

Artie didn’t know what he meant by that, but in that moment, she swore to herself she would always remember. She could feel his words like a bubble in her chest, and she thought it would never burst.

The man made to walk away, but Artie called after him.

“I don’t know your name!” she cried, panicked.

“You may call me Pan.”

Artie grinned widely. “Thank you, Mister Pan,” she said. It was a funny name, she thought, but Artemis was no better, though she loved her name greatly. “Will I see you again?”

“Oh, I don’t doubt it,” Pan said with a glimmer in his eyes. “Look for me in the forests.”

What a strange thing to say, Artie thought, but she agreed nonetheless, and bade him goodbye.

Pan’s words stuck with her through the years. She would often find herself scouring the treeline behind her house, looking for a glimpse of a scraggly beard. She never found him, but once or twice, she swore she saw a goat watching her.

She never told her parents of the strange Mister Pan; she knew they would never understand. When she was older, however, she asked them why they had called her Artemis; it was an extraordinarily unusual name.

They told her a story of a goddess who wielded a bow and arrow, who was fierce and protective and strong and kind. They hoped their child would be as great as the goddess, and wanted the world to know their daughter’s strength.

“You can do anything, Artie,” they told her.

Artie was ecstatic. Her parents had seen the magic in her all along! She knew from that day forward that she really could accomplish anything. Her parents’ story of her namesake inspired her, and at twelve years old, she picked up her first bow. She was a natural.

As with all my posts, this is just a single scene; it’s not a complete story (thought I suppose it could serve as one).

I tried to put a moral in there, and worked around the idea that you can do anything you put your mind to, and I hope that shines through.

I’m determined not to let my poor marks affect my confidence. I just need to work on my writing a lot more!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

